Missouri Corn Growers header image

Missouri Corn Growers Convene At Annual Meeting

Posted on 2/17/11

(JEFFERSON CITY, Mo.)–Corn farmers, grower-leaders and guests from across the state gathered in Jefferson City, Mo., yesterday for the Missouri Corn Growers Association (MCGA) annual meeting.

The day’s activities began with lobby training and a luncheon featuring keynote speaker Senate President Pro Tem Rob Mayer at the Doubletree Hotel.  After receiving a legislative overview, growers visited the State Capitol to talk with legislators about the important role Missouri corn production plays in the state’s economy, highlighting the three major users:  livestock, ethanol and exports.

“Serving as corn growers’ representative in the governmental process is a cornerstone to what Missouri Corn does and why we exist,” said MCGA President Kenny McNamar, a farmer from Gorin, Mo.  “Our role in protecting Missouri’s corn industry is as important as ever.  There are many new leaders we must reach out to in order to ensure our markets remain viable.  It takes corn growers in the Capitol to make a difference and we feel yesterday’s legislative visits were worthwhile.”

After meeting with legislators at the Capitol, growers reconvened at the Doubletree for MCGA’s annual business meeting.  The program included a review of the year’s successes, a financial report, election of board members and award ceremony to thank industry supporters.

Recognized for their contributions to the Missouri Corn Growers Association, award winners included:

Public Servant Award
Governor Jay Nixon

President’s Award
Senator Brian Munzlinger (R-Williamstown)

Friend of Corn Growers Award
Senator Rob Mayer (R-Dexter)
Senator Bill Stouffer (R-Napton)
Representative Tom Loehner (R-Koeltztown)
Representative Ed Schieffer (D-Troy)

Appreciation Award
Keith Witt, retiring Missouri Corn board member and farmer from Warrenton, Mo.
Ashley McCarty, Missouri Corn staff

Outstanding Partner Award
Sydenstricker Implement

Outstanding Communicator Award
Mindy Ward, Missouri Farmer Today

Environmental Stewardship Award
Mark White, Environmental Resources Coalition

In the business portion of the meeting, members approved the 2010 annual meeting minutes and financial report.  Members also elected two new directors to the MCGA board of directors:  Mark Scott of Wentzville to represent District 6 in east-central Missouri and John Moreton of Charleston to represent District 7 in southeast Missouri.  Three board members were also reelected:  Kevin Hurst with District 1 in northwest Missouri; Rob Korff of District 2 representing the north-central region; and Billy Thiel of District 5 for central Missouri.    

“Missouri Corn strives to represent the state’s corn farmers and protect the interests of our industry,” said McNamar.  “This meeting provides a great opportunity for our growers to discuss the importance of corn with our elected leaders and build partnerships for future growth.  We are also honored to recognize those individuals who have contributed to our success and look forward to another productive year.”

The Missouri Corn Growers Association is a membership organization of farmers dedicated to growing and defending the corn industry.  MCGA works in the best interest of farmers on key agricultural issues and fights for pro-agriculture, pro-corn legislation.  To learn more about Missouri Corn, or to become a member, visit www.mocorn.org or call (800) 827-4181.

- 30 -

Becky Frankenbach
Director of Communications
Missouri Corn Growers Association
(573) 893-4181

Share this page via:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. *Fields are required.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.