Missouri Corn Growers header image

Missouri Corn Growers Discuss Priorities, Honor Partners At Annual Meeting

Posted on 1/24/18

(JEFFERSON CITY)–Corn farmers, industry representatives and guests from across the state gathered in Jefferson City, Mo., yesterday for the Missouri Corn Growers Association (MCGA) annual business meeting and legislative day. 

The morning kicked off at the Capitol Plaza Hotel with MCGA’s annual meeting. Members reviewed financials, heard from industry leaders and elected five board members: Morris Heitman of Mound City to represent District 1 in northwest Missouri; Gary Porter of Mercer in District 2 representing the north central region; Jay Schutte of Benton City to represent northeast Missouri growers in District 3; Kyle Kirby of Liberal to represent District 4 in the southwest region; and Greg Schneider of Warrenton will represent District 6 in east central Missouri.

Following the annual meeting and luncheon, growers visited the State Capitol to discuss the importance of Missouri’s corn and ethanol industries with legislators, as well as farmers’ efforts to continually improve production practices and preserve the land and water for future generations.

“With farmers being such a small minority, it is more important now than ever to have a voice in the political arena,” noted MCGA President Kyle Kirby. “We thank the growers who took the time to be in Jefferson City and thank the legislators for listening and learning about Missouri’s corn industry.”

Members also took the opportunity to honor industry supporters for their contributions to the corn and ethanol industries during a recognition dinner. Award recipients included:

Friend of Corn Growers Award
Director of Agriculture Chris Chinn
Sen. Dave Schatz
Rep. Mike Bernskoetter
Rep. Tracy McCreery

President’s Award
Morris Heitman, Mound City
Mike Geske, Matthews

Emerging Leader
Brian D. Martin, Centralia
Joshlin Yoder, Leonard

Outstanding Partner Award
Brian Schrock, AgDirect

Honorary Lifetime Award
Gary Porter, Mercer

Missouri Corn 2017 Top Recruiter
Morris Heitman, Mound City

Years of Service
Kevin Hurst, Tarkio


The Missouri Corn Growers Association is a membership organization of farmers dedicated to growing and defending the corn industry. MCGA works in the best interest of farmers on key agricultural issues and fights for pro-agriculture, pro-corn legislation.

To learn more about Missouri Corn, or to become a member, visit www.mocorn.org or call (800) 827-4181.   

- 30 -

Becky Frankenbach
Director of Communications
Missouri Corn Growers Association
(573) 893-4181

Share this page via:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. *Fields are required.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.